The Young Group

Welcome to the Young Group!

The Young group is dedicated to developing novel methods for sustainable synthesis of pharmaceutical, fine, and bulk chemicals. Our strategies involve accessing these compounds from renewable feedstocks with efficient catalytic processes that produce less waste than traditional synthetic routes. To do this we apply supramolecular strategies to make catalysts with increased stability and selectivity.

What's Happening Now?

Jan 2019: Congrats to Mohit, Pratibha, Justin, Daniel, and Hanyang on their recent work published in Synlett entitled Carbon Dioxide-Driven Palladium-Catalyzed C–H Activation of Amines: A Unified Approach for the Arylation of Aliphatic and Aromatic Primary and Secondary Amines.!

Dec 2018: Congrats to Dr. Mohit Kapoor, who has left to start his independent career at Chitkara University. Good luck!!

Nov 2018: Congrats to Allison and Kayla on their paper in Acta Crystallographic C entitled One-Dimensional Networks Formed via the Self-Assembly of Anthracenedibenzoic Acid with Zinc(II)!

May 2018: Congrats to Mohit, Pratibha, and Justin on their paper in JoVE entitled Achieving Moderate Pressures in Sealed Vessels Using Dry Ice As a Solid CO2 Source!

May 2018: Mohit's and Daniel's paper on CO2-Directed C-H Arylation of Aliphatic Amines was accepted to JACS! Congrats!

November 2017: The Young group welcomes Ph.D. student Mr. Hanyang Zhou, who completed his M.S. at Ball State University in Indiana. Hanyang joins Team Self-Assembly, and is looking forward to developing new strategies for hydrogen bond-directed catalysis.

August 2017: The Young group welcomes Ph.D. student Ms. Pratibha Chand-Thakuri, who completed her M.S. and B.S. in Chemistry at Tribhuvan University. Pratibha joins Team C-H Activation, and is looking forward to developing reactions with new coupling partners.

June 2017: The Young group welcomes M.S. student Mr. Justin Maxwell, who completed his B.S. in Biological Sciences at the University of Toledo. Justin joins Team C-H Activation, and hopes to make new biologically-relevant molecules.

April 2017: The Young group receives its first grant from the American Chemical Society's Herman Frasch Foundation! Link to Herman Frasch Foundation Webpage

April 2017: The Young group welcomes Dr. Mohit Kapoor, who recently completed his graduate training and a brief postdoc at National Tsinghua University in Taiwan.